K. D. Singh Babu Stadium

60 reviews
●   #25 Rank
●   Stadiums
●   Stadiums

K. D. Singh Babu Stadium first opened in 1957, right in the middle of Lucknow's bustling Hazratganj district. It is named after the legendary hockey player Babu K. D. Singh, who was born and raised in Lucknow. The stadium has become Lucknow's primary cricket venue, replacing the University Ground. It is one of the oldest multipurpose stadiums in India.

K. D. Singh Babu Stadium can be found in the heart of Hazratganj, so it is multi-purpose in its use by many localities. Many different sports, including cricket, tennis, football, and hockey, are played at the stadium. This venue has hosted a number of national and international hockey matches. It is also a center for indoor sports, as floodlights would be impractical for outside events. The stadium, which seats 25,000 people, is owned by the state.

The stadium serves as the primary venue for home games for the Uttar Pradesh Cricket Team. Since its inception, it has served as a regular site for domestic matches in the Ranji Trophy, Duleep Trophy, C.K. Nayudu Trophy, and other tournaments. Only two international men's cricket matches have been played at the venue so far. Sri Lanka and Pakistan played each other in this stadium's first-ever One-Day International (ODI) 1989 MRF World Series (Nehru Cup).

Association football matches, such as those played by the Lucknow District Football League, are occasionally held at the stadium. Sahara took first place at the 2012 football competition played here.


The K. D. Singh Babu Stadium is the city of Lucknow's primary sports venue with the following facilities:

- A complex for swimming

- Recreational facility for the indoors

- AstroTurf® synthetic grass tennis court

  • imageDuration Required
    2 hours

Address of K. D. Singh Babu Stadium

Centre Of the city Near Hazratganj Area, Lucknow India

Opening & Closing time of K. D. Singh Babu Stadium

  • Monday
    Open 24 Hours
  • Tuesday
    Open 24 Hours
  • Wednesday
    Open 24 Hours
  • Thursday
    Open 24 Hours
  • Friday
    Open 24 Hours
  • Saturday
    Open 24 Hours
  • Sunday
    Open 24 Hours

Explore More